It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6-23-14

It’s Monday! – Here’s What I’ve Been Reading

Over the course of this week, numerous books came into the library that I recommended for purchase.  Some I didn’t have time to read as they were chapter books, and they arrived on my last day of interning.  However, the following picture books I felt were great!  They would be great additions to any children’s library.

Gravity by Jason Chin

Image

This is a very simple book to introduce the concept of gravity to children.  The end of the book provides more in-depth information for those wanting to expand their knowledge.

Humble Pie by Jennifer Donnelly

Image

Donnelly’s book provides great descriptive words to add to the wonderful story.  Children will be exposed to a higher level of reading for picture books, and it has a good moral of helping others and not always just taking.  I would definitely recommend it to others.

The Spiffiest Giant in Town by Julia Donaldson

Image

What a sweet story with a wonderful main character.  The giant just wants to fit in, so he purchases some spiffy new clothes.  Along his walk home though, he encounters many creatures that are less fortunate, and he chooses to help them out which puts him right back where he started.  I recommend that you read this lovely story to find out how it turns out.

Emily’s Blue Period by Cathleen Daly

Image

Sadly many children in our society have to deal with the reality of parents separating.  This sweet book shows how little ones may experience “blue” periods but can still be happy in life.  It is a very well written story that tackles a tough subject in a sweet way by discussing “blue” artwork.  RECOMMEND…

In addition to these great picture books, I read some adolescent literature that is wonderful as well.  Over the course of the summer, most of the books that I have chosen have been very enjoyable.  There are only a few that I was “iffy” on.  This week I tackled the following books:

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen

Image

Hoot highlights some of the struggles that children have when moving to a new town.  It is tough to fit in, but it only takes some courage, the friendship of a few, and a common goal to change the course of daily life.  In their quest to save endangered burrowing owls, the antics and vandalism of a construction site are revealed.  This book is definitely one that will keep the interest of students, and it was a quick, fun read for me as well.

Rules of the Road by Joan Bauer

Image

Rules of the Road was recommended to me by the cataloger where I completed my internship.  Although I had never read a book by Joan Bauer, I would definitely reach for another one.  The teen girl whose life was challenging due to an unpredictable drunk of a father showed wonderful character as the story progressed.  This story is truly inspirational showing that no matter what a person’s circumstances in life, they can be successful.  It was definitely worth the read, and I will look to read more of Bauer’s books.

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Image

To some people in a Utopian society, being selected to the position of “Receiver of Memory” might be an honor.  However, as Jonas soon learns after he is given this distinction, it has some responsibilities that prove to be challenging.  After learning what it is like to see colors, experience thrilling events and painful memories, Jonas must decide if he wants to continue to live in a world of “sameness.”  Is there something more to life than what he has always known?

What would you do if given the responsibilities that were put on this boy in his twelfth year of his life?  Read The Giver to find out…

And… although I haven’t read them yet, I hear that the sequels to this story are good as well…

Holes by Louis Sachar

Image

Stanley Yelnats is a teenage boy that is sent to a juvenile detention facility due to an unfortunate series of events.  Upon arriving at the desolate location, he quickly realizes that his days are not going to be easy.  However, he befriends a boy called “Zero,” and together they learn some interesting facts that tie their families together from years before.

The trials and tribulations that the boys experience at Camp Green Lake lend to a fast moving and entertaining story for all.  Read closely to find out the true reason why the boys are forced to dig holes that are five feet deep and five feet wide day in and day out in the hot desert under the warden’s watchful eye.

The BFG by Roald Dahl

Image

The Big Friendly Giant in this story is just that… Friendly!!!!  Not like all of the other giants that children usually imagine in their minds.  This whimsical story is very nicely summarized on the back of the book, so I will give you the exact words chosen by the author below:

“Captured by a giant!  The BFG is no ordinary bone-crunching giant.  He is far too nice and jumbly.  It’s lucky for Sophie that he is.  Had she been carried off in the middle of the night by the Bloodbottler, the Fleshlumpeater, the Bonecruncher, or any of the other giants – rather than the BFG – she would have soon become breakfast.  When Sophie hears that they are flush-bunking off to England to swollomp a few nice little childdlers, she decides she must stop them once and for all.  And the BFG is going to help her!”

I am a little embarrassed to say that I have never taken the time before now to read this sweet story as it was our youngest daughter’s very favorite book years ago.  She literally read it over and over and over again!  I just never took the time to pick it up.  I am glad that I finally did, as I think that students will love it!

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6-23-14

  1. I am so eager to read Emily’s Blue Period–I’ve seen it featured in a number of the Monday reading meme posts. I’ll probably break down and order it… It sounds like one I would enjoy sharing and discussing in Children’s Lit class. I’ve read several Joan Bauer novels (most recently Almost Home, which I really liked and which would be appropriate for your elementary library collection), but I don’t think I’ve read Rules of the Road. Will be looking for it after reading your description. I really like Carl Hiassen’s mysteries for kids. They all have an environmental/ecological twist and a strong setting in Florida. I tried to read one of his adult mysteries, but I read so few books for grown-ups these days. I just couldn’t get into it. Scat is probably my favorite of his books for kids, followed by Hoot, but they’re all good. I have been intending to read more Roald Dahl for YEARS now. I have a mental block about his books. Matilda is the only one I’ve read, I think. Maybe I’ll try The BFG next!

  2. Many of the books that I helped to purchase for the library where I did my internship were pulled straight from blogs that I am following. Emily’s Blue Period was one of those, and it is a sweet take on how divorce/separation affects kids. I have never read blogs in the past, but I must say that I have found them incredibly helpful for not only this class, but for my responsibilities in the library. I am so glad that you introduced me to this world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

