Reading for enjoyment

Wow!!!!  I have been in school full-time for the past 3 years (including summers).  Needless to say, reading for enjoyment hasn’t been at the top of my “to-do” list.  Taking adolescent literature is allowing me time to just READ!!!!  It is wonderful!  My hope is to read at least one book per week when I am not so swamped with classes.  Right now I am working full-time (for free as it is a practicum class) and taking five classes.  I am soooooooooo glad that this class allows me to read for enjoyment again.

2 thoughts on “Reading for enjoyment

  1. Reading for enjoyment is a major goal in my Children’s Lit and Adolescent Lit classes. I am not sure how we can expect students to be good readers if they don’t enjoy reading, and let’s be honest, by the time most of us get through school, we may be a little soured on reading! I find that my college students haven’t been able to read for pleasure in many years, so that has become an essential part of these courses.

    • I am thrilled that it is a requirement, as it makes me set aside time each day just to relax. It has been years since I have been able to lay in bed each night and just get lost in a good book. What a blessing!

Leave a Reply

